Classic children’s fiction

Another list of recommendations, this one is for authors of classic children’s fiction.

  • Joan Aiken, author of The Wolves of Willoughby Chase, its eleven sequels, the thirteen Arabel and Mortimer titles, and other novels
  • Louisa May Alcott, author of Little Women, its three sequels and other titles
  • Frances Hodgson Burnett, author of A Little Princess, Little Lord Fauntleroy and The Secret Garden
  • Helen Cresswell, author of Ordinary Jack and nine other Bagthorpe saga titles
  • Richmal Crompton, author of Just William and thrity-nine other William titles in addition to numerous unrelated works
  • Lorna Hill, author of A Dream of Sadlers Wells and nineteen other ballet school titles
  • Geraldine McCaughrean, author of A Pack of Lies, A Little Lower Than the Angels, Stop the Train and various other titles
  • L. M. Montgomery, author of Emily of New Moon and two sequels, as well as of Anne of Green Gables and numerous sequels
  • Noel Streatfeild, author of Ballet Shoes and many other titles
  • Mildred D. Taylor, author of Roll of Thunder, Hear My Cry and other titles


  1. Liz
    Posted April 2, 2009 at 7:02 pm | Permalink

    You do realise that you are now tormenting American Alcott fans with the promise of a non-existent (for them) fourth book, don’t you?

    (Good Wives is merely the second part of Little Women over there.)

  2. Posted April 3, 2009 at 10:56 am | Permalink

    @Liz No, I didn’t know that! Sorry, US Alcott fans!

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: