10 SF titles

Sara W asked me to recommend some science-fiction titles to her. An insto-list of good SF follows. I’m limiting myself to ten titles or I’ll be here all day.

  • A Deepness in the Sky, Vernor Vinge
  • Ender’s Game, Orson Scott Card
  • Drinking Sapphire Wine, Tanith Lee
  • Her Smoke Rose Up Forever (short stories), James Tiptree Jr
  • Palace, Katherine Kerr and Mark Kreighbaum
  • Permutation City, Greg Egan
  • Snow Queen, Joan D. Vinge
  • Steel Beach, John Varley
  • The Dispossessed, Ursula Le Guin
  • Xenogenesis trilogy, Octavia Butler
2 Comments

  1. Rae (killingaurora)
    Posted June 14, 2010 at 2:49 am | Permalink

    I can’t believe this is the first time I’ve been on your blog. I can no longer complain about not knowing what to read.

    ENDER’S GAME! One of few novels that has managed to impress me post-discovering Hex, hurrah. What did you think of Ender’s Shadow, lovely Rhi?

    • Posted June 30, 2010 at 10:28 am | Permalink

      Hi, really glad to see you here. I should let you know though that this is the older version of the blog. The new one is here: http://blog.rhiannonlassiter.com/ They look really similiar so easy to mistkae but I’m not updating this one any more.

      I didn’t really like the Shadow sequence. I thought the revised history with Bean being brighter than Ender, better than Ender and aware of much more than Ender was didn’t really work for me. I read it mostly because I wanted to know more about Petra Arkanian.


One Trackback/Pingback

  1. […] current SF authors It’s been a while since I listed ten science fiction titles. Those are still valid but I thought I’d add to them by listing ten current SF authors […]

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *
*
*

